What’s the difference between `I am giving an exam’ and `I’m taking an exam’?

When you say that you are `taking’ an exam, it means that you are going to be writing one. In other words, you are going to be a candidate, an examinee. When you say that you are going to be `giving’ an exam, it means that you are going to give someone else an exam; you are the examiner. You are probably a teacher and you are going to give your students an exam. In India, this distinction is not always maintained.

Source: ‘Know Your English’ ( The Hindu) – April 10, 2006

Check out my new initiative for English Lovers- www.exploreabc.com

Join  Our New Facebook Club- www.facebook.com/exploreabc

 

One thought on “What’s the difference between `I am giving an exam’ and `I’m taking an exam’?

  1. Pingback: Harrogate Dental Practice| Starbeck Dentist| Harrogate Dentist

Leave a comment