‘green around the gills’ / `blue around the gills’

Examples: “Is something wrong? You look a little green around the gills.” * “I’m feeling green around the gills. I’d better step outside and get some fresh air.”

When you say that someone is green around the gills, what you mean is that he/she looks out of sorts. In other words, the person looks sick or unwell. The person feels like throwing up.

It’s possible to say `blue around the gills’ as well. It means the same thing.

Example: “Ever since eating the chocolate cake, I’ve been feeling a little blue around the gills.” * “I’ve been feeling blue around the gills since this morning.”

 Source: ‘Know Your English’ ( The Hindu) – June 11, 2007 

One thought on “‘green around the gills’ / `blue around the gills’

  1. I’ve ever come across this blog first time and i am at cloud nine by viewing articles and updates.

    To brief my self, I am a software consultant by profession and English language fanatic,freak and officianado and everything by vocation based out of Hyderabad.

    I am delighted to see the birds of my feather flock together here.

    Mr.Sunil jose, I would like to have a word with you. Please post your number to my mail if possible in the following mail.

    I expect more and more articles from your front.

    Warm regards
    Srihari Rao .
    +91-9885347744.

    durgamalleshrao@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

