fall down or fall off (the chair) ?

You don’t usually fall down from a chair. Careful users of the language would say `fall off the chair’.

“I used to fall off my bicycle very often.” * “The rider fell off the horse and broke his foot.” * “Before I fall off this wobbly chair, I’d better get home. I am expecting a phone call.”

The Hindu- ‘Know Your English’ Series, Nov 04, 2003

Check out my new initiative for English Lovers- www.exploreabc.com

Join  Our New Facebook Club- www.facebook.com/exploreabc

 

2 thoughts on “fall down or fall off (the chair) ?

Leave a Reply

