‘Sound someone out’

 When you sound someone out, you try and find out what he/she thinks about something.”  

Examples:

“Suresh was keen on knowing what Suparna thought of his new movie. He wanted me to sound her out.” * My boss is planning to bring about big changes in our company. He wants me to sound everyone out.” * I would sound people out before throwing my hat into the ring if I were you.

The Hindu – KYE August 28, 2001

Check out my new initiative for English Lovers- www.exploreabc.com

Join  Our New Facebook Club- www.facebook.com/exploreabc

Leave a Reply

