Opposite of “postpone”

I guess in the Indian context one would say that the opposite is “prepone”.

It is very common to hear people say: *The meeting has been preponed. *I have decided to prepone my ticket. *The date of his wedding has been preponed.

Native speakers of English, on the other hand, tend to use the word “advanced” in these contexts. *The meeting has been advanced. *I have decided to advance the date of my journey. *The date of his wedding has been advanced.

The Hindu – KYE Tuesday, August 21, 2001  

Check out my new initiative for English Lovers- www.exploreabc.com

Join  Our New Facebook Club- www.facebook.com/exploreabc

 

Leave a Reply

