“Barkis is willing”

The expression first appeared in Charles Dickens’ well-known classic “David Copperfield”. Barkis is the name of one the characters in the novel. He keeps sending a message through David to Clara Peggotty, the maid of David’s mother. The message that David is to give Clara is “Barkis is willing”. In other words, Barkis is willing to marry Clara. The expression is used nowadays to indicate one’s willingness or readiness to do something.

Sourced from  ‘Know Your English’ Series – The Hindu Daily, June 13, 2005.

Check out my new initiative for English Lovers- www.exploreabc.com

Join  Our New Facebook Club- www.facebook.com/exploreabc

 

2 thoughts on ““Barkis is willing”

  1. Wonderful, I learned the phrase from my mother in my toddler years, but never really knew the origin. I have her old sewing machine, 50+ years, who I named Barkis! Now I know the origin, thank you, and yes, Barkis is willing!

Leave a Reply

